Triple Dip

This year, June 17 has 3 significant meanings for me–none of which have anything to do with Icelandic National Day.  Most obviously for us Americans, today is Father’s Day.

So, first, I can’t help but be especially grateful to God for my dad on this day.  He has been 070506-15.jpga rock in our family these three decades of my life.  For better or worse (though 90% of the time better), I see him in myself more all the time.  After I make up a silly song for my kids or say some jokingly sarcastic remark, Brook often says, “Okay, Chuck.”  Many of the greatest memories of my life have taken place with my dad.  I pray that God will give us many more wonderful memories together–outings, conversations, and even trials.

Second, this Father’s Day is special to me because it is my 5th one as a dad.  While my kids don’t really recognize the difference of this day over another, today does cause me to think about my children with great joy and proper intrepidation.  The happiness my kids bring me is unmatched.  However, the sobering responsibility I have as a father to bear the image of God to them in a unique way is also very weighty.  As John Piper says, “[Children] ought to see in their human father a reflection—albeit imperfect—of the heavenly Father in his strength and tenderness, in his wrath and mercy, in his exaltation and condescension, in his surpassing wisdom and patient guidance. The task of every human father is to be for his children an image of the Father in heaven.”  Cali, Carson, and Katie, your goofy dad loves you more than you’ll ever know.

img_4946.jpgToday is also significant for a third reason.  On June 17, 1997, after Brook followed a trail of carefully placed clues and gifts, I knelt down on one knee and asked my best friend to marry me.  10 years ago today, I happily offered the rest of my life to the love of my life.  Four days from now will mark the anniversary of when she actually said yes . . . just kidding.  For some reason she didn’t even hesitate.  What a journey the Lord has brought us on in this decade of life together.  So Happy Engagement Anniversary, babe.  I love you very much and never get tired of saying it.

About wordpictures

My name is Justin Culbertson. I am extremely happily married and the father of 4. We reside in Fayetteville, GA, where I help shepherd Berachah Bible Church. I am best described as John Newton described himself: ""I am not what I ought to be. I am not what I wish to be. I am not even what I hope to be. But, by the Cross of Christ, I am not what I was."
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

