24:24

This past Saturday, our church hosted the 2nd annual Bosnia Brze (Bosnian word for “fast”).  This is a 5k race that raises money for the summer short-term missions team going to Gorazde, Bosnia.  This year I managed to shave just over 9 minutes off of last year’s time.  I still got beat by a girl, though.  The big news this year, however, was the Mrs.’ fine showing.  My speedy little wife, who started running for the first time in her life early this year, was the 3rd place female finisher and got around the challenging off-road course in a brze 28:35 for her first race ever.  If the race had been a 10k, she would have caught me and blown by me.  She has been doing weekly long runs of 8-10 miles, a distance I couldn’t touch right now.  Anyways, here are the results and some photos.  Thanks to all who organized this excellent and fun event.

After last year’s race, I was inspired to begin running regularly.  I started to train consistently and worked toward running a 10k last September.  I ended up running three 10k’s last fall with my best time at 49:23.  Then I got lazy as the weather turned cold.  And I have been sitting on my duff since November of last year until about two weeks before the Bosnia Brze.  My plan is to let this event be the kick to my pants needed to get me back in decent fitness.  I’ll keep you posted . . . as if you cared.

Please do pray for the team going to Bosnia as they prepare for a June 24 departure.  The 2-week trip will consist of teaching English to children with the hopes of seeing doors opened into their homes for the gospel.  We have 5 folks going this year and they will need much strength, patience, and boldness as they go as ambasaddors for Christ in a spiritually dark, Muslim place that is very suspicious of Christians.

About wordpictures

My name is Justin Culbertson. I am extremely happily married and the father of 4. We reside in Fayetteville, GA, where I help shepherd Berachah Bible Church. I am best described as John Newton described himself: ""I am not what I ought to be. I am not what I wish to be. I am not even what I hope to be. But, by the Cross of Christ, I am not what I was."
This entry was posted in Family, Sports, The Church. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

