Sweet Home California!

I am in sunny and warm southern California right now to attend the Shepherd’s conference with my good friend and fellow elder, Van Edwards.  We’re sitting in a “hot spot” with the smell of shoe polish in the air (shoe-shine station next to us) and the sound of happy shepherds all around.  There is something special about being here.  Everyone is a friend.  There is no searching for common interests.  We all (at least I hope) care deeply for God’s church and are giving our lives to shepherd His flock.

It is good to be back in the place where Brook and I lived three fast and wonderful years of our lives.  The week promises to be a spiritual feast for a hungry pastor.  Christ-centered preaching, encouraging conversations with fellow pastors, rekindling friendships from the past, buying new books, consuming In-and-Out burgers and fries–what more could you ask for?  For one thing, I might ask that my wife be here to enjoy these things with me.  Instead, she is graciously sitting this one out and taking care of our munchkins.  In fact, she has had an exciting time already.  Read and laugh about one of those experiences at Three Little Monkeys.  Thank you, Brook.  And keep Carson away from Cali’s hair.

I am also grateful to our church for the opportunity to be here.  I am thankful to God that they see my training and spiritual growth as important enough to pay for me to come to these conferences.  May I not squander this blessing but take advantage of every session and conversation, and come home filled with renewed vigor for Christ’s Bride.   

About wordpictures

My name is Justin Culbertson. I am extremely happily married and the father of 4. We reside in Fayetteville, GA, where I help shepherd Berachah Bible Church. I am best described as John Newton described himself: ""I am not what I ought to be. I am not what I wish to be. I am not even what I hope to be. But, by the Cross of Christ, I am not what I was."
This entry was posted in Misc.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

