50 in 50 in 50

Being the serious runner that I am, I stumbled upon a newstory recently about a guy named Sam Thompson who is running fifty marathons in fifty days in all fifty states to raise awareness of and funds for victims of Hurricane Katrina.  Here is his mission in his own words:

“To run fifty marathons (26.2 miles) in all fifty states in fifty consecutive days.  These will all be timed, certified marathon courses, though most will not be run on the actual marathon race day.  Through local media outlets and local running clubs, people will be encouraged to run alongside Sam each day for as much or as little as they would like.  The voyage begins July 1, 2006 in Colorado and will be completed August 19, 2006 on the Mississippi Coast.”

He will be running the inaugural ING Georgia Marathon course this Friday in Atlanta.  I don’t think I’ll be joining him, but I do wish him well.  And if I knew one, I would recommend a good surgeon to take care of his inevitable hip and knee replacements that will be imminent after all that pavement pounding.  He has been chronicling his journey on an interesting blog that you can read here.

About wordpictures

My name is Justin Culbertson. I am extremely happily married and the father of 4. We reside in Fayetteville, GA, where I help shepherd Berachah Bible Church. I am best described as John Newton described himself: ""I am not what I ought to be. I am not what I wish to be. I am not even what I hope to be. But, by the Cross of Christ, I am not what I was."
This entry was posted in Misc., Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 50 in 50 in 50

  1. Kyle Brown says:

    No problem…I already run a marathon every month, i could step it up a bit (2.0 miles each day for 13 days, not in a row of course.)

Leave a Reply

