I Remember

I take pause today to remember those who died for the freedom that we possess and too often take for granted in the United States of America.  Memorial Day was not begun so that we could have a three-day weekend and watch the Indy 500.  This 24-hour period was set aside for the free citizens of the United States to connect with the turmultuous past of this nation and the reality that men and women died to secure our liberty.  So I will choose to remember.  I will deliberately make it a point to think about fallen soldiers and explain to my children the purpose of their sacrifice.  I will walk through the cemetary near my house and let the flowers placed on the grave markers of the war-dead serve as memory aids.  I will pray for our active military personnel and their families.

It is impossible for me to consider the freedom-buying sacrifices of American soldiers without giving thought to the ultimate liberation from sin made available to me through the death of Jesus Christ.  We who were held captive by our sins were liberated through the war that was won at Calvary.

Therefore there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.  For the law of the Spirit of life in Christ Jesus has set you free from the law of sin and of death.  For what the Law could not do, weak as it was through the flesh, God did:  sending His own Son in the likeness of sinful flesh and as an offering for sin, He condemned sin in the flesh, so that the requirement of the Law might be fulfilled in us, who do not walk according to the flesh but according to the Spirit. – Rom. 8:1-5

May we not take either freedom for granted, but intentionally recall, with great sorrow and abounding joy, the sacrifices made to secure them.

About wordpictures

My name is Justin Culbertson. I am extremely happily married and the father of 4. We reside in Fayetteville, GA, where I help shepherd Berachah Bible Church. I am best described as John Newton described himself: ""I am not what I ought to be. I am not what I wish to be. I am not even what I hope to be. But, by the Cross of Christ, I am not what I was."
This entry was posted in Misc., Word Pictures. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

